Birthdays and Facebook and Student Engagement

My birthday was a week ago.  Even after 50 birthdays like this one, it is nice to be remembered. I received 1 mailed birthday card, 3 hand delivered birthday cards, 5 birthday phone calls, and 55 happy birthday wishes on my Facebook page. The birthday wishes on my Facebook came from a variety of people – most of whom I know.  My best friend from high school wished me a happy birthday, along with other high school classmates, one of my former high school teachers, and the woman who was my girlfriend in high school.  Then there were former students who wished me a happy birthday, including one who was in my kindergarten class over 25 year ago.  There were birthday wishes from colleagues and people I have interacted with in the library world, the online learning world and the overall educational world, as well as friends who live where I live.  All of the birthday wishes came from people in the U.S. with the furthest birthday wish coming from Virginia and Connecticut.  For that 30 seconds it took each person to write a note to me, I know they were thinking about me and that feels pretty good. 

 

In the world of online learning, those who are not involved often wonder how students are engaged in learning and with their teachers when the learning is online.  The birthday greetings on Facebook are one example of how teachers can interact with students for learning.  Just as in face-to-face classrooms, when teachers take special notice of a student, it encourages student learning.  Effective online teachers know how to engage and recognize students online through short messages, by recognizing good work, and by comments on graded assignments.  These are some of the ways that online teachers engage students in their learning. 

As Facebook continues to cause us to connect with people we would otherwise not be in contact with, evolving online learning pedagogies, tools and content provide new ways to better meet the needs of all learners.

11 Responses to “Birthdays and Facebook and Student Engagement”


  1. 1 SEO Help May 7, 2012 at 11:34 pm

    Woah this blog is great i love studying your articles. Keep up the good paintings! You know, lots of individuals are searching around for this info, you can help them greatly.

  2. 2 frankbrau May 8, 2012 at 4:16 am

    Nice thoughts, student engagement is difficult for me, but you remind me that short positive messages even in the classroom show the student that the teacher does care and is reading the responses.

  3. 3 Nyc hobbies April 8, 2013 at 3:52 am

    I like the helpful info you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here regularly. I’m quite sure I will learn lots of new stuff right
    here! Good luck for the next!

  4. 4 Ebony June 23, 2013 at 10:13 am

    Diet should not mean giving up on food since this will deprive your body of
    essential nutrients. There’s an enchanting offering called the Elegant Green Restaurant Menu Template available at graphicriver. All mothers and grandmother in the house prepared pickles at home and by tradition it is never ever bought pickles from outside.

  5. 5 best Foreign foods July 3, 2013 at 12:33 pm

    The paperwork required when starting a mall kiosk business is relatively
    easy compared to starting a stand-alone brick and mortar shop.
    A tandoor is a cylindrical oven used for baking flatbreads and cooking cetain meat dishes.
    The quality, effort, and taste that this restaurant serves are
    unbelievable.

  6. 6 buy breast actives canada July 6, 2013 at 9:10 pm

    It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d definitely donate to this superb blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your
    RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to fresh updates
    and will talk about this site with my Facebook group.

    Talk soon!

  7. 7 breast actives side effects cancer July 7, 2013 at 9:20 pm

    I like the helpful info you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently.
    I’m quite certain I’ll learn lots of new stuff right
    here! Good luck for the next!

  8. 8 green coffee extract weight loss does it work July 8, 2013 at 12:12 am

    Hey there! Do you know if they make any plugins to assist with
    Search Engine Optimization? I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very
    good results. If you know of any please share. Cheers!

  9. 9 breast actives reviews July 9, 2013 at 1:17 am

    First off I would like to say terrific blog! I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your thoughts prior to writing.
    I’ve had a tough time clearing my mind in getting my ideas out there. I truly do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally lost just trying to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or hints? Cheers!

  10. 10 Plastic sheets for hobbiest August 2, 2013 at 1:49 pm

    Just want to say your article is as amazing.
    The clearness to your post is just nice and that i could assume
    you’re an expert in this subject. Fine together with your permission allow me to grab your feed to stay up to date with forthcoming post. Thank you 1,000,000 and please keep up the enjoyable work.

  11. 11 Louise August 4, 2013 at 3:56 pm

    Yes! Finally something about example.


Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

Archives


