The Olympics and doing online school work

I always enjoy watching the Olympics.  I like watching these winter Olympics even more because I vacationed up on Whistler Mountain in Canada two years ago.  At that time, the Canadian Olympic committee was already widening highways and building various venues including the luge.  So, seeing many of the events reminds me of that vacation and the various places I visited that summer.  I enjoyed watching the downhill skiing, the snowboard races, as well as figure skating.

What caught my attention while watching the couples figure skating last night was first their incredible balance and timing on the ice (I can barely ice skate let alone lift someone over my head while ice skating!).  They make it all look so easy.  Then, hearing the stories of the different competitors was interesting as well.  One story I happened to come across talked about the skater Keanu McLauglin whose passion is ice skating.  You definitely need passion to compete in any sport in the Olympics!

The one pairs skater that especially caught my attention was 16-year-old Caydee Denney who was in the finals with skating partner Jeremy Barrett.  While talking about Caydee, the  commentator mentioned that Caydee takes online high school courses in Florida.  No doubt she is having to work her online courses into her schedule along with competing in the Olympics.

The Olympics also remind me of the Olympic Creed which apply to every day life as well:

The most important thing in the Olympic Games is not to win but to take part, just as the most important thing in life is not the triumph but the struggle. The essential thing is not to have conquered but to have fought well.


Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

Happy new year

Happy new year

Happy new year

Happy new year

More Photos

Archives


