Blog transitioning?

The Clovis Online School serving students of Central California will be opening in the next few weeks.   All teachers in the school will be using blogs to communicate information about their courses to students and parents.  As the principal of the school, I will be doing the same.

I have set up a school blog here which has communicated ongoing information out to the community about the developing school.  I have written these blog entries as well.  I am now wondering  if I should use the California Dreamin’ blog to be my “principal’s blog” or if I should use the school blog as the principal’s blog or create another blog or ???

As I write this, I’m thinking I should transition this California Dreamin’ blog to be my principal’s blog.  I think keeping more than one blog could become pretty overwhelming.  Guess I should probably think about the overall purpose of the blog and then make a decision.

4 Responses to “Blog transitioning?”


  1. 1 mkbnl August 8, 2009 at 6:13 am

    Rob, the link to the school blog isn’t working. To answer your question, I think it depends on what you’d like to be writing. While I was a doctoral student, I maintained three blogs: one on virtual schooling (i.e., A, href=”http://virtualschooling.wordpress.com/”>http://virtualschooling.wordpress.com/), one about academia (i.e., http://mkbabd.blogspot.com/), and a personal one (i.e., http://rockruminations.blogspot.com/). I had a bit more time on my hands and was able to keep content coming on all three at least once every week or two, but when I became a faculty I gave up on them and just kept the virtual schooling one. The difficulty has been when something comes up that I want to blog about that has nothing to do with virtual schooling I no longer have an outlet.

    So, if you were to transition California Dreamin’ to your principal’s blog would you feel comfortable using it for something that had nothing to do with your school, you being principal, online learning, technology in education, etc. (i.e., something totally unrelated)? If not, would you be able to just bite your tongue in those circumstances (which is what I’ve tended to do these days)? if you can answer yes to either of these questions, them make the transition and maintain the one blog. If you answer to both questions is no, than you may want to consider two blogs.

  2. 2 robdarrow August 8, 2009 at 7:54 am

    Thanks, Michael, for your thoughts. Fixed the link.

  3. 3 historicalgeek August 9, 2009 at 8:10 pm

    I concur……. And less confusing………..

  4. 4 JackieS August 20, 2009 at 6:59 am

    Rob,
    I have several blogs and contribute to a number of others, including the CSLA Ed Tech blog. Now-a-days, you can post on one blog and then “share” to your twitter, facebook, other blogs, etc. The “share” feature is useful because you can tweek what you write in each place you share. Tom Kahn recently mentioned that he does that, and so I noticed on his blog and the CSLA Ed Tech blog that he posted the same message about a YouTube movie.

    Today, when sending a friend an animoto of my “how-to” make an altered book (I took a summer class on art design class), I noticed I could “share” to my twitter, facebook, blog, and about 10 additional options.

    Bottom line? Think of your audience. As head of a new online school, your school blog should be focused on that audience, with maybe a link to you other blog. IMHO.
    Enjoy the new school year!


Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

Archives


