Facebook, BlueSkunk and ISTE’s L&L May Issue

I was thumbing through the latest issue of ISTE’s Learning and Leading with Technology May Issue.   First, I enjoyed reading the point/counterpoint section about whether or not blogging is worth the risk written by Lisa Nielsen from the New York City Dept. of Education and James Maxlow.  I found Lisa’s descriptions of why blogging is not worth the risk enlightening – well worth the read, but not enough for me to not continue to blog (but I do appreciate her perspective and why she would write what she did).

I then went on to read the “Bloggers Beat” entitled “Should Your Students Be your Friends?” which you have to be an ISTE member to read.  However, here is the quick summary.  Diana Fingal first wrote about a Time Magazine article entitled, “Why Facebook Is for Old Fogies” and then went on to write about Doug Johnson’s (not that there is a direct connection between old fogies and Doug Johnson) post of March 11, 2009 entitled, “Don’t confuse social networking with educational networking“.  Doug wondered whether or not teachers should “friend” their students and offered his opinion that they should not.  I then commented on the post referring to a workshop I attended by Vicki Davis about educational networking and recalled in the early days how teachers were hesitant to eamil their students.    To my surprise, the comment from Blue Skunk’s blog ended up on the pages of the L&L magazine.  So, just goes to show you that whatever you write on the web can end up in print!

Overall, I have thought a lot about whether or not I should allow students who will soon be entering the online school for which I am the principal to be my “friends” on Facebook or if it is best to just create a Ning where we can all be “friends” in the school.  Still reflecting and discussing.

2 Responses to “Facebook, BlueSkunk and ISTE’s L&L May Issue”


  1. 1 Doug Johnson May 11, 2009 at 6:16 pm

    Hi Rob,

    I was surprised to see our stuff in L&L too, but gratified to know people don’t read just the blog entries, but the usually more thoughtful comments as well.

    But yes, you never know.

    Doug

    Oh, the PC term for “Old Fogie” is chronologically-challenged, but I prefer “geezer.” You know, everybody on the web must think I am at least 108!

  2. 2 Vicki Davis May 16, 2009 at 5:42 pm

    I never ask to friend my students – but if they friend me, then I will accept and sit back – I don’t really comment but for example, one student changed her cell in her profile and didn’t realize that it put it through her feed – I talked to her privately at school the next day.

    Her parents told me they were excited and glad that an adult they trusted who understood technology was part of their daughter’s world. Certainly, this is a fine line, however, I’m a teacher 24/7 – this is a fact that I cannot get away from and is going to be a bigger and bigger problem. Now I use my facebook as a professional facebook and not really for private personal things – if I was going to have a personal facebook, I’d want to have a personal facebook and teacher facebook, I think!


Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

Happy new year

Happy new year

Happy new year

Happy new year

More Photos

Archives


