Is anybody listening? Yes!

In January, I had the good fortune of attending a one day conference here in Fresno entitled, “Exemplary Practices in Education” sponsored by the Central Valley Educational Leadership Institute that is housed at CSU Fresno.  At that conference, the luncheon keynote speaker was Thelma Melendez de Santa Ana, the superintendent of the Pomona Unified School District.  During her talk she share a video that students from the Village Academy High school entitled “Is Anybody Listening?”  This was the week before the inauguration in January and she said she was going to take the video with her to the inauguration and hopefully, share it with the president-elect.

Yesterday, in President Obama’s speech about education, he spoke for about 32 minutes.  In the last two minutes, he spoke about the students at the Village  Academy High School and the video they had put together.  Obama said, “I am listening, we are listening, and America is listening.”   Hopefully, these students now know that they have made an impact with their video.   You can watch it here:

4 Responses to “Is anybody listening? Yes!”


  1. 1 mikeco March 12, 2009 at 7:46 pm

    wow..powerful.. I got laid off as well so I know how it is..I am lucky to have had another job that paid the bills and I picked up a paper route that helps..and I am doing fine but its hard and I want something more than a paper route and Target..I was a warehouse manager and I have skills far beyond my current occupations and I hope to utilize those soon.. I sure hope Obama can turn this around.

  2. 2 robdarrow March 14, 2009 at 5:34 am

    Mike – thanks for the comment and I hope you find the type of job you’re looking for soon!


  1. 1 The power of sharing via YouTube! « California Dreamin’ by Rob Darrow Trackback on March 19, 2009 at 8:51 pm
  2. 2 is anybody listening | Business, Technology, Fashion, Entertainment, Media Trackback on March 20, 2009 at 9:38 pm

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

Archives


