Daughter to college

It has been four days since I drove my only daughter to college.  As any parent knows, this is a challenging passage for parents and children.  On one hand, it is emotionally difficult because my daughter is no longer physically around on a daily basis.  On the other hand, it is gratifying to know she is going to college which has been the goal since she was three-years-old.  As I returned home, I started reflecting on my college experience and how her college experience may be different.  I went to college over 30 years ago – in the mid-1970s.  So, here is my first analysis based on my daughter’s first four days of college as compared to my experience 30 years ago.  Many things are similar, but some things are different.  I will be anxious to learn if college instruction has changed or not in the past 30 years.

Dad in College (30 years ago) Daughter in College (today)
Dorms

Dorm Roommates

Feelings of uncertainty, will I have friends, will I be successful? Will college be hard?

Missing family, but not letting on that I miss them

Bought a stereo system

Phone calls home once a week (landline)

Handwritten letters home once a week (or so)

Courses scheduled

Textbooks purchased from college bookstore

Professor Instruction:  Lecture

Dorms

Dorm roommates

Feelings of uncertainty, will I have friends, will I be successful? Will college be hard?

Missing family, but not letting on that I miss them

Bought a computer and ipod

Phone calls two-four times a day (cell phone)

Text messages daily (I’m trying to get my daughter to let me be her “friend” on Facebook)

Courses scheduled

Textbooks purchased from college bookstore and online

Professor Instruction:  time will tell

4 Responses to “Daughter to college”


  1. 1 Doug Johnson August 20, 2008 at 10:57 am

    You forgot – Hitting up parents for money. (Probably both then and now.)

    College gave both my children a level of sophisticated conversation that I had not thought possible from them. Enjoy their college years.

    Congrats!

    Doug

  2. 2 Jackie Siminitus August 23, 2008 at 5:48 am

    What? No refrigerator or TV for the dorm room?

    I agree with Doug about the jump in level of sophisticated conversation. Enjoy!

    – Jackie

  3. 3 Sara Kelly Johns August 25, 2008 at 9:09 am

    The differences in communication are a big change, as you are anticipating. I “nagged” and supported by e-mail and his blog when my son was in college–without being a helicopter parent (can’t imagine you being one either. You will do more texting and maybe some whole new way before her four years are done. Enjoy the experience, but I know it had to be a bit tough…Sara

  4. 4 Gail Desler September 1, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    Rob, you didn’t mention if she’ in a co-ed dorm, which 30 years ago, I bet you were not;-).


Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

Happy new year

Happy new year

Happy new year

Happy new year

More Photos

Archives


