To learn or not to learn, that is the question!

To email or not to email
To search the Web or not to search the Web
To blog or not to blog
To twitter or not to twitter
To ustream or not to ustream
To flickr or not to flickr
To use google reader or not to use google reader
To diigo or not to diigo
To youtube or not to you tube
To podcast or not to podcast
To go online or not to go online?
To learn or not to learn, that is the question!

This is my response after reading Joel Adkin’s post about not having time to do all of the new “cutting edge” technologies.  I can’t help but join in the thoughts I first read on Doug Johnson’s blog.

Good educators continue to learn new things and apply them to both their personal learning and their professional teaching.   This caused me to connect thoughts and ideas from this post, with NECC 2008, a recent news story about presidential candidate John McCain, and the study trip I am on in Cuernavaca, Mexico.

The continuing theme I have been hearing from the NECC conference  podcasts (I could not attend in person) is that as educators, we need to become “facilitators” of learning.  The increase of K-12 online schools and the number of students taking online courses affirms this direction.  If you don’t go online or use the online tools, how can you facilitate learning using these online tools?

I can’t help but reflect on this post and then contrast it with the recent news article that reported that presidential candidate John McCain has not yet gone online.  It is all a matter of making choices in how you want to spend your time.

I am thankful to people like Vicki Davis or David Warlick or Joyce Valenza or Steve Hargadon and many others who I follow for sharing their learning.  Through my blog reader, I have learned what they are learning and then, in turn applied the parts that work for me and apply to my job.

As you can tell from my other posts, I am in Cuernavaca, Mexico as part of a study group from CSU Fresno.  Because of my knowledge about blogging and use of Flickr, I showed the group how to use these tools to share our learning with our families – both personal and academic – back home.  Many of the members of the group had not heard of blogging nor flickr, but have become users because of the trip.  See our blog or our flickr to see what we have been learning.  (And, of course, I have learned a few more things about both of these tools after using them for this purpose).

It really is all about context and what fits with what you are doing.  Getting online is the first step in learning about the rapidly increasing tools and learning about the learning that is shared by others and, every once in awhile, sharing a little learning back with others.

3 Responses to “To learn or not to learn, that is the question!”


  1. 1 Doug Johnson July 14, 2008 at 12:17 pm

    Hi Robb,

    Just to let you know I’ve been following and enjoying your posts from Mexico! Have a muy frio cerveza or dos for me!

    Doug

  2. 2 Los Angeles California Hotel July 14, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    I think it was called these tools like that. Had a lutty jutty steak at Cuernavaca , Mexico so far sizzlers ‘! Walked around randomly and found these tools, we used this the next day to travel to the group – hollywood. Even walking around Cuernavaca , Mexico like the NECC conference podcasts would take you hours and hours and probably not get you very far.

  3. 3 L C July 16, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    First off, John McCain is and has been online for a while! I saw his campaign website, and his picture! I’m being technical here, but it’s true! Haha.

    Anyway, facilitation of online learning requires that teachers become familiar with ever-developing technology. The truth is, teachers have to be facilitators to get students on the right foot, and once that role is played, our knowledge becomes their root knowledge that they can expand and excel from. Students will surpass their teachers in computer literacy sooner or later, and will have to be the ripple effect in passing on that information to their students.


Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

Archives


