CSLA 2007 conference wrap up

As I get ready to pack up my things and head back to Fresno, I thought I would reflect a bit on the CSLA Conference here in Ontario, California.  On the plus side, there were so many outstanding aspects to this conference:

  • The facilities and exhibits were outstanding.
  • The location of the nearby hotels (and inexpensive costs) makes this convention venue a perfect one.
  • The various author presentations are always a treat (I always do my “birthday” shopping for my nieces and nephews based on the authors I see or read about at the conference.)
  •  Having the president of ALA, Loriene Roy and AASL president Sara Kelly Johns attend the conference and present some sessions added a more national perspective on the conference.
  • The variety of concurrent sessions and workshops and events was well planned.
  • Rolled out the next version of School Library Learning 2.0 – it starts on December 1!
  • Most importantly, the variety of people who I met for the first or second or third time have given me wonderful new ideas to take back to my school district.  The networking opportunities are immeasurable at this conference!
  • It was good to read from a few other bloggers who commented about the CSLA conference.  Comet Librarian and one other person who I can’t find.   Where are all the school library bloggers?

So, as I think about how the conference might be improved in the future…

  • It is frustrating that there is not free or low cost wireless Internet access throughout the conference center.
  • Why is it that library conferences do not include sessions/workshops where everyone is on a computer?  (AASL conference did not do this either).
  • The way we do our membership meeting needs to change so that public comments are not made that hurt relationships of the people who are attending.  (Perhaps having he “open mic” where anyone can say anything should be abandoned?

Overall, it was a great conference and we need to continue to do what Tame the Web blogger Michael Stephens says are the essential duties of all librarians:

Learn to learn

Scan the horizon

Adapt to change

Thanks CSLA conference committee for a wonderful conference!  See you all next year in Sacramento.

3 Responses to “CSLA 2007 conference wrap up”


  1. 1 Loriene Roy November 18, 2007 at 2:50 pm

    Thanks, Rob, for a summary of the CSLA.
    I enjoyed the opportunity to participate in this event.

    Cheers,
    Loriene Roy

  2. 2 advocate4libraries November 18, 2007 at 3:19 pm

    It was great seeing and co-presenting with you at the CSLA Conference. Thanks so much for this summary. I feel as though I got to attend the CYRM award dinner even though I had to head home earlier in the day. You rock!

    Thanks too for podcasting the School Library Learning 2.0 “Summer Fun” graduates and leading us all in cheering “GO 2.0 Go!”

    Best wishes.
    – Jackie

  3. 3 Tom Nixon November 24, 2007 at 4:03 pm

    I also blogged about the conference and I agree with your assessment. You can see it here:

    http://notyourmotherslibrarian.blogspot.com

    Tom Nixon


Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

Happy new year

Happy new year

Happy new year

Happy new year

More Photos

Archives


