Where is Sara Kelly Johns?

During my library 2.0 workshop at the CSLA Conference in Ontario, California, it was a pleasure having Doug Johnson, Cathy Nelson and Joyce Valenza skype-in to share a few thoughts on Web 2.0 tools.  However, there is more to this story!

When I was preparing to do this workshop, although I had never met her, I thought it would be great to have our AASL President, Sara Kelly Johns, skype in and share her thoughts about library 2.0.  After emailing her, I received a response the next day, “I will be at that workshop!  Shall I interact from the back of the room?”  Now, you have to understand that Sara lives in New York and I live in California.  I thought to myself, “what are the odds of inviting someone to virtually visit a workshop and then having that person attend the workshop in person?”

As the workshop proceeded I looked around the room.  Now, I’d seen pictures of Sara and saw her at the AASL conference from afar.  However, I didn’t see anyone in the room that matched the picture I had in my head.  She was not in the workshop!

Later in the exhibit hall, I saw her walking along and introduced myself and we had a good laugh about why she wasn’t able to make it to the workshop!

She shared the various places she had been in the last two weeks as AASL president – Massachusetts and Michigan and some place else I can’t remember.  And, in between, she was working in her Lake Placid middle/high school library.

So, as Sara travels around the world as AASL president promoting school libraries, let’s take her picture so we can all keep track of all the places she has visited!  Here she is sitting with me in Ontario, California in the CSLA Conference exhibit hall.  Where is Sara Kelly Johns?

sara kelly johns and rob

And, AASL is now looking at how Library 2.0 tools can be used with AASL.  Post your thoughts on the Task Force Chairperson’s blog.

2 Responses to “Where is Sara Kelly Johns?”


  1. 1 Sara Kelly Johns November 19, 2007 at 6:45 pm

    I really didn’t realize I needed to register for Rob’s workshop as a pre-conference and didn’t want to crash…but it was great to meet Rob in person after lurking on his blog frequently. I left California at 12:30am this morning and was in my LMC for parent conferences by 1:30pm EST…a world away but with shared concerns about school libraries and kids. Thanks for hosting me, Sara

  2. 2 Hilda Weisburg November 20, 2007 at 12:34 pm

    I am beginning to wonder if Sara is the mosts peripatetic President AASL has ever had. She’s going to have to have a name badge to gree her husband — and students.


Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

Archives


