National History Day success

National History Day has just concluded and I’m happy to share that two projects, which I coached, placed first in the nation! First, eighth grader Taylor Sakamoto won first place for her historical paper about four generations of Japanese American women in her family. Her great grandmother was a picture bride who arrived in California to be married.

The second first place finishers were Chelsea Gonzales and Kimi Ibello for their group documentary about Chiune Sugihara who was a Japanese diplomat stationed in Europe who rescued Jews during the Holocaust. Their award included $5000 from the History Channel.

The National History Day contest takes place at the University of Maryland each year in June. Our local Fresno Bee included a brief article about the results.

Here is a picture of the winners and the coaches (yours truly is on the far left).

1 Response to “National History Day success”


  1. 1 P Henry June 18, 2007 at 8:44 am

    Dear Mr. Darrow,
    This is my first time “blogging,” so I hope this actually reaches you. Congratulations to your students on their great performance at NHD. I was there for the first time with my son a sixth grader from Texas who competed in the Junior paper division. I am writing to request a copy of Taylor Sakamoto’s winning paper. My son and I want to see what a winning paper looks like. The teacher who sponsored the history fair at our school this year was a new teacher and had no experience with NHD. So we want to see what a winning paper looked like. Would you be willing to provide us a copy of Taylor’s paper? I’ve included my email address above. I hesitate to put it in this message for fear everyone will see it. As I say this is my first experience blogging, so I hope this gets to you. Thanks very much.

    Peaches Henry
    Waco, Texas


Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

Happy new year

Happy new year

Happy new year

Happy new year

More Photos

Archives


