Latest “spaces” disturbing

Today I received an email via our Tech Director from a teacher letting us know that her intermediate school students had discovered some new “spaces.”  Instead of MySpace, they were on HmongSpace and CrackerSpace and Crackspace.  She wondered if they should be blocked by our district filter.  Now, I am a believer in educating students about appropriate and inappropriate uses of the Internet, rather than filtering websites.  However, after doing a little further research, I found it disturbing to discover all of these “clone” space sites.  I discovered ” Niggaspace .”  Upon reading some more, I learned that it launched in late October – see Fishbowl post.   I think I most agree with the post by Jill Tubman that these types of spaces “ain’t my spaces.”

 And then I found MinoritySpace and MyGhetto and GhettoPal.  And, no doubt there are countless other “spaces” that are already developed and being developed.  Not sure what is next…

2 Responses to “Latest “spaces” disturbing”


  1. 1 shelly January 9, 2007 at 4:12 am

    that ghettopal.com site is real cool i like it.

  2. 2 mike August 31, 2008 at 12:22 pm

    hey i seen this kool site called mygoonspace.net


Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

Archives


