Learning about Badging #blendedlearning #srl14

I attended the MacArthur Foundation gathering to hear about badging.

badgesmozillaThe gathering was entitled “Summit to Reconnect Learning” and was held in Redwood City, Ca. I thought I knew about badging – I mean I’ve been on FourSquare for quite awhile and have earned lots of badges there!  What I’ve learned from interacting with a variety of people at this gathering is that badging is simple and complex. One of the speakers suggested that badging is where email was in 1965 – and that badging will become broadly adopted similar to email. Pathways of badging is one area to understand. Another area is how badging intersects with competency based education. And then, how badging fits with gaming systems that causes informal learning to occur.

The work that has already be done with badging appears to have started with Mozilla’s grant competition for digital badging in 2011. Since then, Mozilla and others have created a common vocabulary and concept papers that are open for anyone to use.

Throughout the gathering, there has been a combination of plenary talks, panel discussions and guided group discussions. The most productive time for me were the focused table top conversations that challenged us to identify how we may implement badging in our respective institutions and organizations. The other table top group that developed was one around badging for teacher professional development. It is interesting to think about how receiving badges for teacher professional development. I wonder about badging for professional development and how badging may fit into teacher education programs, credential renewal and ongoing professional development that allow teachers to move across a salary scale.

One of the more exciting projects shared was Chicago Summer of Learning which used a badging system for young people throughout the city in summer 2013. The case study here provides a nice snapshot of the program. There are people here from all major cities and are talking about how badging can extend learning for all ages of people beyond the school day – on school campuses, in libraries and in museums. One developing example is the Beyond the Bell program in LA Unified School District which is hoping to link schools, libraries and museums in the summer of 2014.

The excitement about badging was palpable among the attendees. This excitement has been helped with the active Twitter feed, the illustrator who has kept visual notes of the proceedings and the overall organization of the event.

badgingpartnerships

badgingimage03

 

 

 

 

 

Helpful Links to Learn More:

3 Responses to “Learning about Badging #blendedlearning #srl14”


  1. 1 TammaraFSU February 19, 2014 at 6:11 pm

    Dr. Darrow:
    As a student, I enjoy the concept of badges. Being the competitive type and a gamer, I am accustomed to working toward achievements. As I opened my Black Board course this evening, I was pleasantly surprised to see that I had earned 2 of the 3 available badges. I earned one for tweeting and for my persistence in the course. The one I have yet to earn is for helping build others technological skills. As I mentioned being competitive, my new goal is earn the next badge. As a future educator, I found the concept of badging appealing and engaging. Thank you exerting the extra effort to build meaning into our blended course, as well as, model the behavior of exemplary practice for online teaching.

  2. 2 Brandon March 19, 2014 at 12:52 pm

    I enjoyed reading your badging blog and the badging discussion in class several weeks ago. I am actively looking for ways to implement this system in my practice.

  3. 3 movers baltimore maryland March 26, 2014 at 12:32 am

    Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after
    reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.

    Anyhow, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back often!


Leave a Reply

Rob’s Tweets

Flickr Photos

museum camp photo2014

teens off path who did selfir

team

pathselfie

More Photos

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,673 other followers

