What DOES an online teacher do?

In my posts last week, I provided a continuum of teaching and learning that ranges from textbook enhanced to technology enhanced to web enhanced to blended and then, online.  I maintain that it is difficult to be an effective blended learning teacher if one has not first been an online teacher because online teaching and learning is different than face-to-face teaching and learning.  Today, here are some excellent “day in the life” and narratives from online teachers.

First, Kristin Kipp was the 2011 Online Teacher of the Year.  She writes an ongoing blog about her experiences as an online teacher.  In one recent blogpost, she addressed how those unfamiliar with online teaching think that online teaching is all about “busy work“.  Another post discussed how “synchronous online sessions” are similar and different from face-to-face teaching.  Her video about being an online teacher is one of the best ways to understand the work of an online teacher.

Many articles have been written by online teachers about their typical day.  Here are a few:

16 Responses to “What DOES an online teacher do?”


  1. 1 Donna Baumbach March 1, 2012 at 8:42 am

    Rob,

    I’m LOVING this series of posts. My online class of preservice teachers are looking at virtual schools this week and I’ve seen so much more interest in teaching online this year than ever before. I’m going to share your posts with them because I think they allow them to see there are so many variations on the theme! And you describe them beautifullly! I think there is something for everyone–especially for those just entering the teaching profession in the next few years.

    I have little doubt that they are going to spend more of their careers online than we did! (Little technology was available during the dino age for me!)

    Thank you SO much!

    • 2 Rob Darrow, Ed.D. March 2, 2012 at 1:00 pm

      Hi Donna – Glad it is useful and always nice to know someone is reading my blog. I so much admire all that you have done in your career and how much you have contributed to the ed tech and library world!

  2. 3 Ronni Allessio March 7, 2012 at 2:28 pm

    Spot on with this write-up, I absolutely feel this amazing site needs much more attention. I’ll probably be returning to see more, thanks for the advice!

  3. 4 Homepage March 7, 2012 at 2:47 pm

    Thank you for the sensible critique. Me and my neighbor were just preparing to do some research about this. We got a grab a book from our local library but I think I learned more from this post. I’m very glad to see such wonderful info being shared freely out there. 544221

  4. 6 Art Deeb April 27, 2012 at 2:34 am

    This post is related to web programming is genuinely good for me as I am website developer. Thanks for sharing keep it up.

  5. 7 Rob Darrow, Ed.D. April 27, 2012 at 5:31 am

    Thank you for validating the usefulness of this continuum for teaching and learning.

  6. 8 Nona March 21, 2013 at 3:01 am

    Hello, this weekend is good in favor of me, for
    the reason that this point in time i am reading this enormous informative paragraph here at my house.

  7. 9 Buy Power Pump XL June 24, 2013 at 5:12 pm

    Greetings! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could get a captcha plugin for
    my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having trouble finding one?

    Thanks a lot!

  8. 10 Buy HugeGenic June 29, 2013 at 8:46 am

    Thank you a bunch for sharing this with all folks you really recognise what you’re talking about! Bookmarked. Kindly also talk over with my website =). We can have a hyperlink alternate contract between us

  9. 11 cheap pillows January 28, 2014 at 7:45 pm

    The Clean Bedroom is a wonderful resource for mattress
    toppers as well as all of your green bedding needs. Why You Need Cotton Bedlinen in Your
    Life Why do you want cotton. Don’t do your self out of proper rest for
    the sake of a few pennies.

  10. 12 Loe June 4, 2014 at 12:25 am

    Thanks lots for sharing the following operating folks you really determine what that you are preaching about! Added. Please as well pay a visit to our web site =). Organic meat have a very website link transform settlement in between us all


  1. 1 Homepage Trackback on March 7, 2012 at 4:57 pm
  2. 2 Behind the Whiteboards: Online Teacher Experience (Week 3) | The Know How of Writing Online Trackback on June 23, 2014 at 2:55 pm
  3. 3 how to make blog Trackback on July 7, 2014 at 3:00 pm
  4. 4 copysniper Trackback on July 17, 2014 at 4:33 pm

Leave a Reply

Rob’s Tweets

Flickr Photos

museum camp photo2014

teens off path who did selfir

team

pathselfie

More Photos

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,608 other followers

